BIZCOMMUNITY

Sikuvile Journalism Awards recognises excellence in journalism

The Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards have always been important but in the context of this hullabaloo of fake news, they are even more critical, says Mathatha Tsedu, this year's Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards Convenor.



© Publishers Support Services.

He explains that while the concept of fake or false new is not new, technology has accelerated the delivery of such news. "Fake news has been with us since the beginning of time, what has changed is the advent of technology which has provided platforms for anyone with an intention to spread any news. This is available to everyone."

Society cannot survive and advance on unverified information that is thrown into the public space. Society relies on journalism, which is the production of knowledge and information in a certified form for the reader/viewer/listener to make reliable decisions about their lives, business and politics.

It makes an Award such as the Allan Kirkland Soga Award, one of the Sikuvile Journalism Awards, which recognises an extraordinary contribution to newspaper journalism, ethics and craft, more pertinent than ever. This Award, in particular, recognises a lifetime of dedication to the true tenets of journalism and media generally and emphasises the ethical moorings of journalism.

Benchmark of great journalism

Mary Papayya, a member of the judging panel, also comments on the importance of the Awards saying that peer acknowledgement and the recognition of excellence in journalism as well as the celebration of such excellence is vital. "It provides a benchmark for great journalism and gives inspiration in an industry that in itself is grappling with day to day challenges including strict deadlines, digital convergence and bottom line pressures."

Mathatha Tsedu is the Adjunct Professor in the School of Journalism at Wits University and a member of the Board of the SABC. Mary Papayya is a media consultant, editor and news specialist at Papayya Media.

The Judging Panel also comprises Dinesh Balliah, Gus Silber, Henry Jeffreys, Mike Siluma, Tyrone August, Phil Mtimkulu, Pippa Green, Tim du Plessis, Liesl Louw-Vaudram, Thabo Leshilo, Ryland Fisher, and Neo Ntsoma.

The Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards will be presented at a prize-giving function on Thursday, 19 October 2017.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com